S.20-77 Revised



SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY ENGAGING THE WORLD

- To: Senate
- From: Kris Nordgren, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee
- Date: June 8, 2020

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for Senate committees.

All nominations must be received by the Senate Office from the Nominating Committee in time to be included in the documentation sent out for the next Senate meeting. Senators will be informed that further nominations may be made by individual members of Senate. Any such nominations must reach the Committee Secretary the Friday before the meeting of Senate, and no further nominations will be accepted after this time. The Committee Secretary will provide members of Senate at the Senate meeting with such further nominations as may have been received. Oral nominations during the meeting of Senate will not then be allowed.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, June 8, 2020. An email will be sent to all Senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (from June 1, 2020)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED	CANDIDATES ELECTED/ ELECTED BY
CC	Student Member	1 year		
	Convocation Senator	3 years	Rob McTavish	
DQAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Jobenjit Bassi; Miranda Pinter-Collett; Simran Uppal	
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
	Senator	2 years	Gordon Coleman	
ESC	Senator	2 years		
	Student Senator	2 years	Sarah Lord Ferguson	
	Faculty Member	2 years	Paul Garfinkel	
	Faculty Member	2 years	Veselin Jungic	
SAB	Faculty Member	2 years	Holly Hendrigan	
SAD	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	Pooria Arab	
	Graduate Student	2 years		
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	2 years		
SCAR	Senator	2 years	Peter Tingling	
	Senator	2 years	Stephen Spector	
	Student Senator	1 year		
	Student Senator (Alternate)	2 years		

	Faculty Senator	2 years		
SCCS	Faculty Senator	2 years		
	Faculty Member	2 years		
	Faculty Member	2 years		
	Convocation Senator	3 years	Matt Martell	
5005		5 years	Pooria Arab; Jobenjit	
	Student	2 years	Bassi; Winfield Chen;	
	Student	2 years	Simran Uppal	
	Student (Alternate)	2 years	Simul Oppur	
	Faculty Senator	2 years	Gord Myers	
	Faculty Senator	2 years	Gordon Coleman	
SCEMP	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student (at-large)	1 year		
			Michael Favere-	
	Faculty Member (Business)	2 years	Marchesi	
	Faculty Member (Communication,			
	Art and Technology)	1 year		
SCIA	Faculty Member (Education)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Science)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Lifelong		Wente Otenten	
	Laerning)	2 years	Wendy Steinberg	
	Faculty Member	2 40000	Doug Allen;	
	Faculty Melliber	2 years	Christian Venhuizen	
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year	Ingrid Northwood	
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year		
			Pooria Arab; Allan	
		1 year	Lam; Susan Luu;	
SCODA	Student		Yehor Nabokov;	
			Abhishek Parmar;	
			Karan Pathania	
	Student	1 year		
	Student	1 year		
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Communication,	3 years		
	Art and Technology)	-		
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	3 years		
SCUH	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	3 years		
	Faculty Senator (Science)	3 years	John Stockie	
	Convocation Senator	3 years	Rob McTavish	
SCUP	Convocation Senator	3 years	Matt Martell	
	Senator (at-large)	2 years	Colin Percival	
	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social	2 years		
	Sciences)	•	Deter Tingling	
	Faculty Senator (Business)	2 years	Peter Tingling	
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	2 years	Tracy Brennand	
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	1 year		
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Abhishek Parmar;	
	č	-	Samad Raza;	

			Alan Wong	
			Alan wong	
		 .		
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		
	Undergraduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		
	Graduate Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		
	Convocation Senator	3 years	Stephen Spector	
SCUS	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Pooria Arab; Jobenjit Bassi; Gabe Liosis; Nafoni Modi; Yehor Nabokov; Abhishek Parmar: Karan Pathania; Miranda Pinter-Collett; Simran Uppal	
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Arts and Social Sciences)	3 years	Amanda Watson	
	Faculty Member (Science)	3 years		
SCUTL	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Pooria Arab; Ashmita Grewal; Yehor Nabokov	
	Graduate Student	1 year		
SGAAC	Convocation Senator	3 years	Stephen Spector	
	Graduate Student (Alternate	1 year	Stephanie Chua	
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SCSC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	Abdul Zahir	
SGSC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Senator	1 year	Daniel Leznoff	
SLC/LPAC	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	2 years	Pooria Arab	
Dual Positions	Graduate Student	1 year		
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	2 years		
SNC	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social	2 years		
	Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Business	2 years		
	Administration)			
	Faculty Senator (Communication,	1 year		
	Art and Technology)			
	Faculty Senator (Education)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Science)	1 year		

	Student Senator	1 year	
	Graduate Student	1 year	
SPCSAB	Faculty Senator	3 years	Holly Hendriagn
	Convocation Senator	3 years	Colin Percival
SPCSAB/	Graduate Student	1 year	Abdul Zahir
SGAAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
	Faculty Member	2 years	
SPCSAB/ SUAAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Pooria Arab; Corbett Gildersleve; Karan Pathania; Miranda Pinter-Collett; Alan Wong
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
	Convocation Senator	3 years	Colin Percival
SUAAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Pooria Arab; Susan Luu; Karan Pathania; Miranda Pinter-Collett
	Undergraduate student (alternate)	1 year	
Vice Chair of Senate	Senator	1 year	Colin Percival

* SCIA Faculty members: In the event that the Faculty Member is unable to attend, the Faculty Dean is authorized to appoint an alternate replacement.

CC	Calendar Committee
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee
REB	Research Ethics Board
SAB	Senate Appeals Board
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules
SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee
SLC/LPAC	Senate Library Committee/Library Penalties Appeal Committee
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee